beauty

Morphe x Jaclyn Hill Palette Review & Swatches

I am actually writing this section post even before I have received the palette. Why? Because I feel like I need to talk about the BeautyBay website and how checking out the palette went. So, on the 28th of September, the Jaclyn Hill x Morphe Collaboration Palette launched on the BeautyBay website. Jaclyn snap-chatted that the launch would happen at 9 is on the website. I was working that day and I only get 45 mins break. I checked the website 8:30 am and the palette was already on there, and I later found out it was an early access for registered members. I added it to my cart, and it wouldn’t let me sign in. I, therefore, created new account thinking that I must have changed my password and forgot, but no, it wouldn’t let me sign into the new one either. I was there for half an hour until the page suddenly came up as being out of stock. My heart sank, as I had been trying to check out nearly for all of my breaks, and they don’t have a customer service line either so I couldn’t complain straight to a person. I checked their twitter help page and it said that they are having major technical issues, and the palette was not out of stock, and to keep an eye out until it comes back. My break was over by then so I had to ask my dear friend Rich to refresh the page every five minutes when he went on his break. Surely enough it came back in stock after creating a queue system on the site, and I was able to log-in and check out securely. BeautyBay is a great site if you want to buy American and Korean products you cant find anywhere else in the Uk, but if you’re waiting for launches, make a note that it’s going to take time. I might consider booking work off next time. Apparently, it’s coming back in October so keep a look-out.

So now onto the palette, which arrived the next day. On first look, you’d think that it’s very cheap quality and that it would get dirty quickly. However, when you look at the quality of the shadows you can see where the money had been spent. On the top, it says her name, Jaclyn Hill and inside it prints that the palette is for her subscribers. What I am confused about is that she actually has named each shadow but hasn’t put the names on the palette, not on the outside and not even the outer packaging.

 

 

I am not a big fan of all the morphe pushing that goes on at youtube and social media, however, I am a fan of Jaclyn’s video, and wanted to have something that she obviously uses often now. The shadows, however, are really nice. The shimmers and metallics are a little dry feeling when you put your finger in but they swatch amazing. The formula of these sort of reminds me of the Jeffree Star highlighter formula, when it’s a little dry when you touch them but take your finger off, boom, amazing pigment. The mattes are also a little dry, however, this will make them easier to blend on the eye, and give you not so much instant pigment then the colour is applied on the brush and then the lid. The swatches don’t lie about the crazy pigment in this palette and I am very excited to try it out.

Enlight, Beam, Silk Creme, M.F.E.O, Faint, Sissy & Little Lady.

 

Creamsicle, Butter, Pooter, Pukey, Huntz, Firework & Queen.

 

Obsessed, S.B.N, Hillster, Roxanne, Jacz, Buns & Cranapple.

 

Royalty, Twerk, Hustle, Meeks, 24/7, Chip & Mocha.

 

Pool Party, Jada, Diva, Enchanted, Central Park, Soda Pop & Abyss.

I captioned each photo with the shade names, you can get a copy of a PDF of the shade names on the Morphe website. (here) All swatches were made with no addition of primer or setting spray.

I haven’t used this palette on the eyes yet, but I am super excited. Some colours her really surprised me, even though I’ve already seen her swatch video. If you’d like me to create another post about having used this palette, to let you guys know my thoughts on this then just leave a comment and I will write one up.

Hope you enjoyed this post. When I first saw her swatch video I thought it would be a really nice palette, but then everyone was making a tutorial with it and I bought into the hype, and I am so happy about it. This palette seems great so thank you to BeautyBay for stocking it. (link)

Many Thanks x

3 thoughts on “Morphe x Jaclyn Hill Palette Review & Swatches

Leave a comment