beauty

Collective Beauty Haul

During January there were a lot of beauty launches, and I feel as though when things get announced the Us markets will be able to sell it within a month if not 3 weeks. For myself I would have to make a Sephora order and pay up to £30 in shipping and taxes to get my hands on newly released gems, and I have done so a few times, however this year I am inclined to wait, if I know a 100% that they will be bringing them to the Uk.

So this is a collective haul that I have bought from various websites, that include, Asos, Beautybay and Debenhams.

The first product that I the most excited to start using is the TooFaced x Kat Von D Better Together Palette. This was only launched in the Uk on the 14th of February when it was released in the US before the holiday season. My main motivation for purchasing this is because I haven’t seen two companies come together in friendship like this to make a range of products. I love my Kat Von D palette, and I also love my TooFaced Palette so I was confident I would like this. I really like the packaging, and it’s not as flimsy as I thought it would be considering the only thing holding the two sides together is a magnet.I bought this on the Debenhams website for £57, and at first, I was shocked at the price as in the Us this sold for $60. When you break the value apart, you get the value for the full sized eyeliner which is £16 and the mascara which is £19, so that would make the palette £22, which is around £1.80 a shadow. So from a value point of view, it’s a great deal. Perhaps it didn’t take that much money to make and probably half of the price that Debenhams have for it is made of tax, but I do understand that this is a great value for the price. This is currently a limited edition, however, on the spine of both of them it says, Vol.1 so does this mean there could be a Vol.2? Who knows…

 Then on to some re-purchases. I had to re-purchase my bottle of mac fix plus. If I were ever to run out I don’t know what I would do. I am interested in trying out the Urban Decay setting spray, though however, for the moment, nothing that I own is even close to mac. I might be slightly addicted to the scent as well but that that one slide. Something that’s a re-purchase but also something new to me is the beauty blender in the baby pink shade. I have the pink and black one but both are looking worse for wear and have nail marks in them. I saw this shade when they made a collaboration with TooFaced and, although I a not a girly girl who loves pink, I had to own it. I also bought the nude colour but I have recently used it, hence why it’s not pictured. I refuse to do my makeup without one of these, and if you don’t own one, don’t get a knock off, get the original. This shade is also a limited edition to celebrate being around for 15 years.

 The next thing I got was the Becca Backlight Priming Filter. I got this as a sample once and I loved it, but I have only recently purchased it. I initially went on Cult Beauty to buy their newest primer that’s purple tinted, however, they have targeted that primer for people with sallow and dull complexions. My complexion is more on the red side so I didn’t really think that the purple would go well with it. I wish there was a Becca counter where I lived so I could have tried it. I then went with something I knew I already liked and picked up the original. I really like it as an illuminating base, however, if you’re sensitive to scents, this one smells a little old-ladyish but in a nice way.

If you saw my last post you know that I was addicted to using my Hourglass Vanish Stick, but that foundation is so much more expensive to be used on a daily basis. I have never tried Mac foundations, but I knew I wanted something with a light coverage and something I could just use on a daily basis. I heard really good things about the Mac Face and Body foundation, so I got it in the shade C1. I was reading up the comments about how it was good for people with dry skin so that just sold me right away. I got this from Debenhams, and it was £22, which I have to say is expensive for the amount that you get. I love the finish it gives and it lasts a long time, I just wished you got more product for the amount that you are paying. I also have to say that the shade C1 is a lot more yellow toned than I personally would have thought considering this is supposed to be Cool toned. I might purchase the shade N1 which is neutral to see how they compare.

The two recent liquid lipsticks that I have added to my collection are both from Beauty Bakerie. They are sold on Cult Beauty and on Asos. I first got the shade Asos Nude, which I originally thought it was one of their best selling shades Honey, but was sold under a different name on the Asos website. Turns out Beauty Bakerie made this specific shade to be an Asos exclusive. I then went on Cult Beauty and bought the shade honey as I thought it would be a paler nude than the Asos one. The shade Honey is a pinkier version of the Asos while that is more of an orange beige nude. I have worn these and the formula is very interesting. They will stay put for hours, and even if a little comes off when eating, you can layer them no problem. The only quip I have about these is that the kling so much to the lips that they are very drying and show every single crack and line that you have on your lips. Most days I don’t mind the feeling and think they look fine, however, some days I can’t stand the feeling.

Swatched: Mac Foundation, Becca Primer, Asos Nude, Honey.

 

Hope you liked this post and let me know what you’ve picked up recently. If you have any recommendations or advice with any beauty products let me know.
Many Thanks x

Leave a comment